For more information call Ron Carlton at 616 754 6066. or call the Club at 754-9855 and leave a message.
Classes start at 8:00 A.M. and finish up by 6:30 P.M. There is a break for lunch if you want to bring one or there are a couple of restaurants near by.
2022 11/19 LADIES ONLY
CPL COURSE APPLICATION
In 2000, the legislature significantly amended Michigan’s firearms laws to make Michigan what is known as a “shall issue” state. Previously, county gun boards were given considerable discretion to issue concealed pistol permits and the decision often depended on a showing of need by the applicant, which varied from county to county. Public Act 381, which went into effect on July 1, 2001, changed that so that anyone who met the strict qualifications of the law would receive a concealed pistol permit. Today, thousands of responsible Michigan residents have been issued concealed pistol permits.
This is the class required to obtain a Concealed Pistol License (CPL) so that you may carry a concealed pistol. Classes are generally offered on the 2nd Saturday of each month, call for availability on specific dates. Cost: members $45 – non members $ 65. Class size is limited to 12. Preregister by calling Ron Carlton at (616) 754-6066 (print form and send with check to address on form) or drop off at club during hours posted on home page.
ADVANCED CPL COURSE
ADVANCED CPL COURSE APPLICATION
The ACPL (Advanced Concealed Pistol License) class was designed to qualify successful students for exemption from PFZs (Pistol Free Zones) by additional training in using a handgun against an armed aggressor. At present, the legislature has NOT passed the necessary legislation to gain this exemption but looks promising.
Next class will be announced. There will be a pre-qualification on basic pistol handling prior to taking the course. As an option, we will be there at 6:30 PM on the 25th if you want to go thru the pre-qualification. You must pass it to go thru the class. There will be a $25.00 fee for pre-qualification which is not refundable if you do not pass. If you can’t make the evening pre-qualification you may take it the day of the class.
The cost of the course is $150 for non members and $125 for members. The $25 pre-qualification will be applied to the fee if the pre-qualification is passed.
See the application for the requirements of the course.
Michigan State Police Concealed Pistol Law Frequently Asked Questions Page
Michigan State Police Firearm’s Page (Contains links to the various state regulations)